LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

21 MARCH 2023

Present: Councillor Merry(Chairperson)

Councillors Dilwar Ali, Driscoll, Hopkins, Lent, Lister and Robson

Barbara Connell, Cardiff Governors Representative, was in attendance at the meeting.

104 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

No apologies for absence were received for this meeting.

105 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declarations of interest were received in accordance with the Members' Code of Conduct:

Councillor	Item Number and School	Nature of Interest
Councillors	6a – Springwood Primary	Personal – applicant is fellow
Merry, Lister &	School	Councillor
Robson		
Councillor Lent	6b – Cardiff High School	Personal – knows applicant well.
Councillors	6b – Holy Family R.C Primary	Personal – applicant is well
Merry, Hopkins	School	known as she sits on the Children
and Lister		& Young People Scrutiny
		Committee
Councillors	6b – Ysgol Gymraeg Melin	Personal – knows applicant well.
Merry & Lister	Gruffydd	

106: MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting of the 17 January 2023 were approved as a correct record of the meeting and signed by the Chairperson.

107 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee RESOLVED to note the list of Local Authority School Governor Vacancies received.

108: EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

The Committee RESOLVED that the public be excluded for the following items of business as they contain exempt information by virtue of Paragraph 12 and 21 of Parts 4 and 5 of the Local Government Act 1972

109: NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to current vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

School Name	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Application Received
Bryn Celyn Primary School	Pentwyn	21/10/2022	Rachel Harris
Fairwater Primary School	Fairwater	13/05/2021	Rebecca Spiller
Hawthorn Primary School	Llandaff North	01/11/2022	Charlotte Bowden
Kitchener Primary School	Riverside	07/12/22022	Adheesha Liyanagunawardana
Meadowbank School	Llandaff North	01/09/2022	Holly Tarren
Springwood Primary School	Pentwyn	29/11/2022	Cllr Jess Moultrie
Stacey Primary School	Adamsdown	11/05/2022	Catherine Newbitt-Jones
Bishop of Llandaff C.W High School	Llandaff	28/01/2023	Ananda Shankar
The Court School	Llanishen	01/12/2022	Naveed Chaudhry
Trelai Primary School	Caerau	22/06/2022	Michael Evans
Tremorfa Nursery School	Splott	09/10/2021	Charlotte Murphy

The Committee received and considered applications to future vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to future Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

School Name	Ward	Start of Vacancy	Application Received
Cardiff High School	Cyncoed	26/05/2023	Jill Davies
Fairwater Primary School	Fairwater	24/07/2023	Rob Larkin
Glyncoed Primary School	Pentwyn	24/07/2023	Ceri Veysey
Holy Family R.C Primary School	Fairwater	24/07/2023	Carol Cobert
Lansdowne Primary School	Canton	24/07/2023	Sacha Davies
Llandaff C.W Primary School	Llandaff	26/06/2023	David Oliver
Mount Stuart Primary School	Butetown	24/07/2023	Ruth Williams-Sharp
Oakfield Primary School	Trowbridge	26/06/2023	Joanne Gordon-Smith
Tredegarville C.W Primary School	Adamsdown	24/07/2023	Natalie Kendrick-Doyle
Ysgol Gynradd	Pentyrch	29/03/2023	Rhys James

Gwaelod y Garth			
Primary School			
Ysgol Gyfun	Llandaff North	21/06/2023	Sara Vaughan
Gymraeg Glantaf			-
Ysgol Gymraeg	Whitchurch &	21/06/2023	Dylan Owen
Melin Gruffydd	Tongwynlais		-
Ysgol Y Wern	Llanishen	24/07/2023	Nicholas Brown

110 : URGENT ITEMS (IF ANY)

There were no urgent items.

111: DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the Committee is to be confirmed at the annual meeting of Council.

The meeting terminated at 5.45 pm